40 AND FABULOUS VS. BODY MAINTENANCE POST 40…OMG!!!!

Standard

40…40…40…

Image  

I hit the 40 milestone 2 years ago. It wasn’t something I was really worried about and didn’t have any meltdowns about…Why would I : have you heard the saying “40 is the new 30” ? Looking back over my 40th party pics brings a smile to my face…it was a good night with some fabulous people and everyone looked wonderful wearing their ‘black and white with a dash of pink’. We’d only been in Australia for 2 years, so some of the most important people in my life weren’t able to be there – that was a little sad…

Leading up to my 40th I had this idea of what I would and wouldn’t be when I turned 40…

  • I would be thin -HAHAHA…that never happened
  • I would be 100% comfortable in my own skin…(body acceptance)- well, that’s still a work in progress 😉
  • I would do what I wanted to do…be less of a people pleaser! This is probably the most noticeable change  for me – if I like you, I like you…if I want to do something I will and if I don’t I won’t…

Now…there are some things that I HAVE noticed since turning 40 that are not so fabulous…

…WHERE DID THAT MOUSTACHE COME FROM?

…AND THE ‘BEARD’?

…AND THE HAIRY ARMS?

…AND THAT BIKINI LINE?(if you can even call it that!)

…WHERE DID THOSE GREY HAIRS COME FROM?

…AND WHY AM I STILL GETTING SPOTS?????

Has anyone else noticed this???

Someone recently mentioned growing old gracefully to me. WHAT? Old? (remember that saying: 40 is the new 30!). Gracefully? I see nothing graceful in facial hair and grey locks. SERIOUSLY? Nope, that’s not going to be me!  It might take some serious work on a regular basis, but I want to feel FABULOUS!

This can cost quite a bit though and if you have a young family, it can’t all be about me,me,me- not yet anyway 😉

Here are some tips which I find work, if you too find yourself in the same quandary – and they don’t cost a fortune.

  1. Facial hair:  I have tweezers in my car(it’s the best place to see those ‘lovely’ hairs which seem to sprout overnight…you know, the ones you see on the ‘crazy lady’ in the supermarket…the ones you remember your gran having…)
  2.  Body hair: I’ve invested in a bottle of hair remover for my arms and go from having werewolf arms(as my 14 year old so delightfully calls them) to smooth and hairless in the time it takes to shower. I tried an epilator- OUCH! I know the whole ‘no pain, no gain’ thing, but if having a few voddies before you do it doesn’t numb the pain then it’s a no go for me!
  3.  My grey hair : There are some really great hair colouring products out there that are so easy to use. One of my favourites is a semi-permanent hair colour (Castings: Loreal) – it gives good coverage and lasts a decent amount of time too. Just remember to put a barrier cream/Vaseline on your hair-line and on and behind your ears to stop staining in those unwanted places.

Now all of this is not for everyone and I certainly wouldn’t want to offend anyone-each to their own-but for me it’s not even an option. I love fashion, bling, bags,make up and shoes…BUT MOST OF ALL I LOVE FEELING FABULOUS!

2 thoughts on “40 AND FABULOUS VS. BODY MAINTENANCE POST 40…OMG!!!!

  1. Dana

    I do my hair removal in the car too! That visor mirror is incredibly unforgiving. I usually go in thinking I’ll just get a couple and then scream in horror when I flip the visor and come out for air 10 minutes later.

Leave a Reply

